In this article we explain what it means to set your status and availability and what this means in your YourDriverApp network.
Sharing your status, availability and location with the people in your network is very important to make things run smoothly and effectively. When this information is shared, dispatchers (including the auto-dispatching services) in your network know if and when you are available for a job offer.
What to know about sharing your location
It’s worth noting here that your location and status will only be shared with drivers who have also marked you as drivers on their phones. Also, the location will only be shared after a shift has been started; as soon as you end the shift, the application goes offline and the location is no longer shared with Yourdriverapp.
Starting/Ending a Shift
Starting a shift is as easy as pressing the status button present at the top of the application screen. Then choose “Start Shift an go online”. Once you start a shift, it’s of great importance to select the right vehicle in case you have entered more than 1 vehicle to your profile.
Setting the right online status
When in a shift, it is important to set the correct status. Dispatchers get access to reports showing drivers who don’t accept jobs. We recommend drivers to make sure that their status is not set to “available”, if and when, for some reason, they are not looking for jobs.
In case you choose to set a job-related status (e.g. driving to pickup or passenger on board or arrived at pickup), the system might ask you to specify whether the pertinent job was a scheduled one (you accepted it from the app earlier) or whether it is another job that wasn’t planned from within the app before (See image below in the middle). Choosing the right/applicable status is vital here because it allows passengers and dispatchers to know whether the scheduled job has been taken on or not.
- Available: Set this status when you are ready to accept a new job!
- Driving to pickup: Set this when you are driving to a pickup location.
- Arrived at pickup: Set this when you have arrived at the pickup address and are waiting for the customer.
- Passenger on board: Set this status when you have a passenger on board and are on your way to the drop-off address.
- Carwash: This status can be used to let your network know that you are on your way to/at a carwash.
- Break: Use this status when you are on a break but will be available to accept a new job soon.
- Private trip: Use this status when you are carrying out a private trip.
- Offline: Use this status when you are offline. This is important because otherwise your group members still think that you are available for job offers. If you're still online (in a shift), while swiping away YourDriverApp, you will receive a notification.