In this article we go in depth into our pre-book automated dispatch algorithm so you can fully understand this innovative but complex feature!
Our pre-book automated dispatch algorithm is set as the default rule for all jobs with a requested time for pick up more than 1 hour after the time of the dispatch. Since the job is in the future all drivers can be available because the current location and status are not important at the time of dispatching.
The process happens in the following stages.
Stage 1 - Driver selection
The algorithm selects all available drivers in the group. All drivers who have a job scheduled at the time of the requested pick up time are not available for this job and thus not selected.
Stage 2 - Selected drivers
Now the group of selected drivers is sorted by the software based on the following data:
- Driver Score
- Last received job
So the drivers with the best driver scores are sorted on top. The algorithm also checks how recently they received a full job offer compared to the other drivers in the group. The longer ago, the higher the driver is sorted.
So based on this info a driver list is sorted where the driver with the best scores is selected first.
Stage 3 - Offering
The system sends out job offers to drivers that are currently available to accept jobs, sending to 9 drivers, in order, every 10 seconds. This means that multiple drivers will receive the same job offer at the same time.
The dispatch is also seen in the group chat. Any driver with access to the group can tap the interface and accept the job.
Stage 4 - Expanding to offline driver (notify)
To make sure that all drivers receive a notification who are available for this pre-book job, but were offline in YourDriverApp at the time of dispatching, the software automatically notifies all current offline drivers with a 'new job' push message.
Although these drivers were offline they may be interested in taking the job. After opening the push message they receive the full job offer which they can accept or decline while the offer is still open.
Stage 5 - Processing results
When job offers are sent out, drivers can respond by either accepting or declining the job offer. When a driver accepts the job offer our dispatching process will immediately stop sending out new offers. All drivers that have the same full job offer open on their screen will see the offer closing in 3 seconds, allowing them to send a response.
This means that multiple drivers can accept the offer, with the driver highest in the sorting order 'winning' the job offer.
If all drivers have declined, or when there is no response coming from the selected drivers, the dispatch will fail. This will send out a notification to all admins and operators of the group, or to the owner of the job.